Paleo Apple Muffins

I made Everydaypaleo’s Paleo Apple Muffins yesterday and they were a hit with the kid, the hubby and the neighbor :).   The recipe made 18 and there is currently one left (not for long!).  They are great alone but extra special with butter with your morning coffee.  The recipe is very versatile.

Paleo Apple Muffins

I made 6 with the original recipe, then I added grated zucchini and carrots to the remaining batter.  I topped the last 6 with chopped almonds as well.  All were great, but I think I like the veggie ones best.  My children like the “plain” ones, but I feel they wouldn’t turn down one of the veggie ones if there was not a choice of “flavors”.    I think I’ll try them with a little orange zest next time and I will add more cinnamon.  Maybe a little vanilla would be good.  Experiment with this fantastic recipe on your own..

Note:  I grind my own almond meal using raw almonds and my NINJA food processor.  I will never have to buy the expensive packaged almond meal again!

Paleo Apple Muffins

2 1/4 cups almond meal (you can grind your own using raw almonds and a food processor)

4 omega 3 enriched eggs

1 organic apple finely chopped

1 very ripe banana

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/3 cup water

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 heaping tbsp cinnamon

Pre heat oven to 350.  As pictured, have a two year old attack and kill an apple while you peel the banana and using a fork, mash the bananna in the bottom of a large mixing bowl.  Using a hand held chopper if you have one, finely chop the freshly killed apple, and add to the bowl.  Add all other ingredients and mix by hand.  The batter will not be super thick, but more like a cake batter.  Using a bit more coconut oil, grease a muffin tin.  Fill the tins about 3/4 of the way full.  Bake for 15-17 minutes.  You will know they are done when you can insert a toothpick into the middle of a muffin and it comes out clean.  Serve hot out of the oven with some ghee melted on top, accompanied by eggs over-easy, and hot black coffee. If you eat them all at once, don’t blame me…  Makes approximately 16 muffins.

Enjoy!!

One Response

  1. These are really yummy! I added zucchini and carrots and additional cinnamon. Well make again.

Leave a Reply

